RAF Tuddenham (June 09)

Derelict Places

Help Support Derelict Places:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sophieellen22

Reaction score
Theres a couple of other peoples photos on here of their visits to this place, but just thought id upload my photos =)
I was suprised how big the area is!

9.jpg

8-1.jpg

7-1.jpg

6-1.jpg

5-1.jpg

4-1.jpg

3-1.jpg

2-2.jpg

12.jpg

11.jpg

10.jpg

1-1.jpg

Im not sure of the history, there are other peoples reports on here that say a bit about it, but as im new to this i didnt wana just copy and paste incase its not right.

By the looks of it now (and some signs nearby saying 'airsoft gunman') its being used as a paintball/airsoft place.

smiley-google.gif
is your friend :)

One of the new bomber airfields to Class A standard, work commenced on Tuddenham late in 1942 on a land east of the village of that name, partly on Cavenham Heath close to the Q-site dummy airfield that had been established in the early days of the war. The main contractor was M. J. Gleeson Ltd. Layout followed the normal pattern of three intersecting runways; the main 12-30 at 2,000 yards, the others, 01-19 and 07-25, both 1,400 yards long. A total of 38 hardstandings of the loop type were constructed along the perimeter track and the standard two T2 hangars provided. One T2 was on the technical site between runway heads O1 and 07, the other just north of runway head 12. At a later date a B1 repair hangar was erected on the north-west side, not far from the T2. The airfield had FIDO fog clearance burners installed along the 12-30 runway, the first use of the equipment being in August 1944. Twelve dispersed sites among woods and farmland south of the Cavenham-Tuddenham road included domestic accommodation for 1,845 males and 250 females.